Hello DaniWeb Family!

I'm new to the site and to the industry so please be patient with me...smile!

I recently completed a 2-year community college program where I studied web development and the courses ran the gamut from Photoshop and Dreamweaver to VB, ASP.Net, C#, Javascript, and Java to Server 2008, SQL using Oracle, and Crystal Reports. What I'd like to do now is combine what I've learned over the past 2 years to complete a project on which I'm working. In the classses that I have taken, I learned to design a website in Photoshop and then build it in Dreamweaver. And I've written programs of varying complexities using the all of the languages mentioned above. But I feel like something is missing because don't quite know how to put it all together. For example, my mother is a caterer. I designed a prototype for her website in Photoshop and then created the pages in Dreamweaver. I've created menus and order forms in C# using Visual Studio to simplify the purchasing process for potential buyers. And I've even started building a database that contains her products, the pricing, and associated recipes. But all of this is segmented. This is an unfinished project that leaves me unfulfilled as I have all these pieces and I don't know how to put them together. How do I connect the pages that I've built in Dreamweaver to the order forms and menus created in C# and the database I created in Oracle? What environment to use to put them together? I'm not sure where to start...

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Sounds like you have everything you need to get the website running. I would take the HTML from dreamweaver web pages and paste it into asp.net web pages. You need ADO.Net to connect the database to the controls on the web page, this is depending on what you have in the DB of course. ADO.Net is built into ASP.Net so you don't need to go our and get anyting else. It is just a subset of database tools for interacting with the databse.