hello everybody, actually I want to work on some open-source project. I want to learn something new and something interesting related to computer science. I can work for 4-5 months on project and even more than that. if not open-source, still if you have something in my mind, you can suggest that also. you all have done much till now, it will help me if you can write and suggest me some good projects currently. any help will be highly appreciated. thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Check the open source sites (SourceForge, GitHub, GoogleCode, CodePlex), plenty of projects there. There must be something you'll like.

yes, I have searched them a lot till now. but, I don't know how to see if project suits me , and how to to get involved in them ? secondly, how to see that what are the pre-requistes for that project ? help me in this. I am new to these things. thanks.

pre-requistes for that project

Usually the main programming language used. Other than that, interest.

how to get invloved with them ? can you please throw some more light ? thanks for your help.

Get to know the project, see what others have done and show that you can do better.

You want us to hold your hand through the process of learning how to use someone else's website? I think that is asking a bit much.

commented: your comments are always always always rude to me! don't know why are you like this to me ? still a up-vote because people here will not say anything to you, no matter how worse you are with me :-D +0

how to get invloved with them

Get the repository, learn what's there, add or improve, push changes.

cool suggestions. @prit is always awesome :p

@prit one more thing, i am starting that why i am asking you. should i start someone'else project or start something else from scratch ? like some desktop calc, or some game or any app ? what do you think about that.
I am only discussing with you. because you can help me alot. thanks in advance.