Hello.
I'm a web developer just taking a short break from converting a mess of legacy C# code into something more manageable. It's nice to be here.

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Hi and welcome to DaniWeb. Good luck!!! Be sure to comment really thoroughly as you go and take advantage of your IDE's refactoring functionality.

That's a tall order. One person's system is another person's mess.

Does this C# app or apps have a Design Document?

When I encounter such systems it's usually missing the basic documentation. Without that you are left to navigate the code and divine what the intent and design was. Put another way, code on its own is rarely enough to understand what the code or design is supposed to do.

Welcome to Daniweb. What was chosen to replace C#?

I think he’s just refactoring the existing spaghetti code, if I understand correctly.

The C# (and aspx) app does have a bunch of design documents, it's a very old Army system, so yeah, TONS of regulations. So we can't really change any functionality, but we can make a 1,000 line method more readable by refactoring as much as possible. It is eventually going to be replaced with MVC, but not for a while yet. For now, we still have to work with the old C#. I'm okay with that though, C# is what I'm most familiar with. I haven't been ordered 'fix all of this' or anything. The task is to fix one issue the users reported, which has been done. But the code is a mess, so while I'm fixing the issue I'll try to make the rest of it better as well.

As for commenting, I'm of the opinion that well written code doesn't need much commenting. If you can tell the purpose of the method or variable by it's name, for example, then no comments are needed.

(and I'm a she)

Thanks for the replies/welcome. :)

I'm of a different school about legacy code maintenance. I've worked in both the military and commercial spaces but in both it's all about the money.