Hi all,

Just looking for some opinions. I have windows xp home, service pack 2 running on a pentium d cpu 3.20-3.20 with 896 mb of ram it is an OEM system and I have been hearing bad things about OEM systems although I really dont know understand it fully. The first OEM computer I bought refused to turn on it was brand new only seven weeks old. I was told by "the computer shop" that the hard drive had failed and it was replaced by a new one :-|. I have only had minor problems since then and have grown to love my computer.

I was also told it is pointless to have a duel processor if you are running xp home. I am a novice and tryiing to get my head around all of this. Do I have and ok amount of memory on my hard drive? trying to figure out if I am getting the best out of my computer.

Advice and opinions from anyone would be SO APPRECIATED. Trying to learn about computers finding it difficult but good fun.

Thank you
b.bea

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

If you like the FSB Dual Core is the way to go. If your planing on Running Paint and IE and Halo.
its not really worth it.
But if you are running a server wile playing halo, useing Skype and Making your PC do your laundry, then Dual Core is the Best thing to work with.
I have Ownd 14 OEM systems 5 of them Had HD Dropouts Some off brand of Westerndigital.
and the other's Exscept 2 of them Lived. the other's Had Bad Ram Chipset Problems.
(all systems went back to there dealers)

Uh, OEM means nothing really.
The letters stand for "Original Equipment Manufacturer". It denotes WHO builds the system, not what the system is.

If Dell sells you a PC they're the OEM, if I build my own I'm one.

that’s Understood. But... None the less, nothing but a problem with me.
like if i get a HP
Normally the Board is MicroATX and the Bios is none updateable. and the Board its self not even the Manufacturer wants to deal with, Because HP bought the Writes for the hardware.
they use Different Hard drives as well.