Hi

I've a masters degree in computer application.I would like to become a database administrator. What should I learn?

and what is the current job market

please advice me

Thanks & Regards
BMP

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

No DON'T do it!

Become a plumber instead. Then your customers will be pleased to see you, the pay is better and the dirtiest things that you have to deal with come crawling out of the sewers. MUCH cleaner & more honest than a career in IT.

I cannot remember what I did to become a DBA. Whatever it was must have been bad, very bad, very VERY bad! I promise I won't do it in my next life.

Hahahaha yeah im in my second year of uni doing computeing and have 3 years of college behind me already and wish i had just become an out of hours plumber :(

Oracle has various certifications you can obtain just like a MCSE. ranging from 1 test up to 5 or more exams.

The entry point would be an ORACLE DATABASE OPERATOR which requires only a single book.

You can buy the exam at amazon, or you can speak with your IT department about letting you start working and they pay for training. Or you can go to a community college in your area and take courses.

If you really like to study, just go Borders in your city and buy a book, and study on your own.

To become a full fledged Database administrator it takes about 5 exams. Hopefully your company can pay for this. or take courses at a community college.

Oracle does offer 1 week onsite crash courses

Hi

I've a masters degree in computer application.I would like to become a database administrator. What should I learn?

and what is the current job market

please advice me

Thanks & Regards
BMP

I m not having much idea abt Database administartion, but yes, i think, you can do oracle certification-DBA. It will be enough to add bullet in ur resume or to attract interviewer/company.

No DON'T do it!