I have a popular history website that comes up in google's top 10, frequently number 1 to 3, for a lot of civil war related searches such as "thirteenth amendment" or "causes of the civil war." The site has been on the web for over 10 years as a free Tripod/Lycos site, and I've recently duplicated the content and put it in a more updated format on a new host's server. I currently just have a "we've moved" link on my old website pages but would like to do something to redirect traffic to the new site automatically, without losing my google rankings. What is the best way to do this? Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

You will need to create a 301 redirect. This can be done in an .htaccess file on the old server.

You will need to create a 301 redirect. This can be done in an .htaccess file on the old server.

Thanks but don't I need to know Tripod/Lycos's current server OS to write the correct file? Not sure how to determine this, if I do. (I'm not a programmer) For instance I found this regarding the 301 htaccess but it says it only works for Linux Apache:

Create a .htaccess file with the below code, it will ensure that all your directories and pages of your old domain will get correctly redirected to your new domain.
The .htaccess file needs to be placed in the root directory of your old website (i.e the same directory where your index file is placed)

Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine on
RewriteRule (.*) http://www.newdomain.com/$1 [R=301,L]

Please REPLACE www.newdomain.com in the above code with your actual domain name.

In addition to the redirect I would suggest that you contact every backlinking site to modify their backlink to point to your new website.

Note* This .htaccess method of redirection works ONLY on Linux servers having the Apache Mod-Rewrite moduled enabled.

Thanks, gleidner

Odds are that is what they are using (Apache / Linux).

My favorite resource for doing website/IP moves is Bruce Clay's "Tech Tips" page. Here's a snippet: