I am new to all this, as well as my site, and I would like to know if anyone can help me find out if my new website has been crawled.

I have not paid for any advertisement but submitted it to the free Google, Yahoo, and Open Diretory tools I found on the internet. Any help or advice would be welcomed

KM1

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

Type site:www.domain.com into Google and if any pages come up, then you're site is indexed.

I have tried this and nothing comes up in Google, or Yahoo for that matter. I only sent the URL in on the free submission forms from both Google and Yahoo, as well as the Open Directory Project. That is why I was asking if anyone could tell if my site had been crawled or could tell me a more specific way to find this out.

Also, sorry for posting my URL here. My ingorance for not reading through the FAQ's.

KM1

If nothing comes up after doing a site: query then you most likely are not in Google's index. To find out the details, including WHY you might not be included, sign up with Google webmaster tools at www.google.com/webmasters/.

I am new to all this, as well as my site, and I would like to know if anyone can help me find out if my new website has been crawled.

I have not paid for any advertisement but submitted it to the free Google, Yahoo, and Open Diretory tools I found on the internet. Any help or advice would be welcomed

KM1

Use this command cache:yoursite.com

If it displays that the site or page doesn't exists it means it is not yet index, so use site:mydomain.com..
Hope this helps....

No, that doesn't tell you if your site has been crawled. All those tell you if your site has been indexed.

Here's a tool that will tell you if your site has been crawled:

https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/sitestatus

If it works, you'll see something like this:
"Googlebot last successfully accessed your home page on Nov 20, 2007"

That means your site has been crawled.