With all the recent news and attention to the latest Google products, I've found myself becoming increasingly paranoid about Google. Have things started to take a creepy turn, or is it just my imagination?

For example, the Google Library Project, and the Google Print Project. Who gave Google the right to scan anything they wanted? Since when did an "opt-out" option trump copyright and express consent?

As an author, I'm sensitive to issues of copyright and express consent. This made me wonder, why are we so complacent about Google?

What do I mean? Well, do a Google search. See all of the "cached" content? When did I ever give Google permission to cache my entire site? That's MY content! I own the copyright. Yet Google has cached it, so that anyone can see my content without actually visiting my site! Morever, THEY derive ad revenue from that content, not me.

I would think forum operators in particular would be outraged at this hijacking of their content, yet no one seems to mind.

Once you start down the road to paranoia, it only gets worse. What information about me and my searches are they keeping? How long are they keeping it? With whom are they sharing it? I was an Adsense publisher, before they unilaterally and with no justification or explanation terminated me... that means they also have my social security number. I find that a bit alarming.

Google: I've decided that I will charge US$1million per page for the right to cache my pages. This is retroactive. You can't opt-in, you have to opt-out. If my page images are still cached within 10 days from this notice, I will generate an invoice. Thanks for your business!

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Greetings Thomas,

Yes, with all the press coverage, it does seem like Google is trying to take over the world. But it's not just Google. Yahoo

Claims