This is kind of strange... I have been running a site for about three years now and was having a tough time getting any kind of rank at all. My homepage still is rated 1 by google.

Here is the weird part... I recently added more to the site and 4 of the pages I added are ranked 3... almost instantly. I'm in no way complaining just wondering how that happens.

Has anyone else here noticed pages having wild fluctuations in ranking?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

This is kind of strange... I have been running a site for about three years now and was having a tough time getting any kind of rank at all. My homepage still is rated 1 by google.

Here is the weird part... I recently added more to the site and 4 of the pages I added are ranked 3... almost instantly. I'm in no way complaining just wondering how that happens.

Has anyone else here noticed pages having wild fluctuations in ranking?

I am not sure why this has happened, I have seen some posts on other forums where new pages went from "0 to 3+" with little effort on the July 13 PR update. I have also seen posts where some web sites reported lost PR. So what happened to you has been reported by others. Is your home page PR higher or lower than these new pages? Were these pages linked to directly from the home page?

There are some theories that PR affects the frequency and how your site gets crawled.If the new pages were linked directly from the home page, then they may have been crawled more frequently than the others. There have been some theories thrown around that the number of pages indexed by the googlebot has something to do with the PR of the page. For example, if your page is a PR4, the googlebot will go 3 links deep, if it is a pR 6, the bot will go 4-5 links deep. Again this is all theory... Given your situation, it sounds like you may have a good baseline enviornemt to test the theory out.