Hi

We have nearly finalised a gym free fitness program in a handy, compact form, running to level1 - level 4. It is inspired by the defunct 1950-1980 5BX program.

The weakness in a progam like this, is the individual can feel isolated and lose motivation and not achieve the goals they would like to.

In brief:

I would like to see a way for those who do the program, to go to 'a place' where they can find others who are maybe doing it in their area and chat and maybe meet up to form their own 'physical' groups to help with their motivation levels.

What do people suggest on this?

Thanks
Chris

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

To clarify my request - Do I set up a group in a social media online service called 'Our fitness program' and give that as an option to those who start the program?

I have been designing websites full time now for over 12 years but have never dabbled in social media.

BTW my question was lousy grammar! Is this concept should be ....Does this concept :>

Cheers
Chris

Seems like a good concept. First, i think you need to get a lot of people, in general, to sign up for the program and establish a community. Then, i think you can encourage your users to meet up with others in their area and workout.

You can use social media tools to help spread the word about the program and maybe you can act as the organizer to get people to meet in person, but i would ultimately keep your site as the main hub for the community to engage other users and participate in discussions.

Long time ago, I created a similar project and I used meetup.com to launch the program and this way I centered events around the fitness program. At first, I had people and then it died off. You need to always keep building and sustaining those relationships.

Thanks for the reply Jay

but i would ultimately keep your site as the main hub for the community to engage other users and participate in discussions.