Hi

I'm gay but not a marketer, I'm a developer. Currently I'm working on non-adult gay website/community. I'd like to get potential users before I go any further. I'm not sure where to start advertising.

I don't know many online gay communities, except for dating apps, but I don't want to go there. Facebook seems like a good option for advertising. I'm not selling any products or such, I'm not targeting any specific gay niche, my plan is to target gay community in general because the plan is to create private online community for gay people with verified members. It would be invitation-based system, meaning that you can only joined if you are invited by another member and once you are verified you can start contributing and s get full access.

Can anyone give me some tips?

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I'm not looking for a cofounder at this point. I'm still not for paying someone to do the marketing like: posting FB or Google ads. I want to get some users on my own and then maybe pay marketer to do it instead of me or with me

In my experience, most LGBT+ groups are local to a specific city or region, and are usually formed around private/hidden FB groups and/or Discord channels. Most of the more national and global groups are formed around web forums (or, in the distant past of the 1990s, Usenet groups), and generally these are focused on some specific sub-set of LGBT+ interests (e.g., trans folk, bisexuality, particular subclutures, political activism, support for trauma or other mental health problems common among LGBT+ people, etc.).

An app that isn't focused on a particular topic or area is likely to grow beyond any reasonably sized moderation team.