i am a newbie flash designer. a client has asked me to make modifications in a flash file used on his website. it is flash 8 actionscript. i am currently working on the same and would appreciate your help. the client has given me 'about.swf' file which i decompiled using sothink decompiler 4.5 build 90120 to '~about original.fla'. the xml folder resides in the same folder as ~about original.fla. it contains about_us.xml.you can download these files at http://rapidshare.com/files/251775121/online_questions.zip

the change the client wants is as follows - if you view 'about.swf' - when you click on 'key people', the details of 4 people are given - vivek lakhwara, arun goswami, haresh nayak and ss balaji. he wants 2 more peoples names and details to be added. this means adding 2 more names in the top menu (which displays the persons details on mouseover) which currently contains 4 names and on mouseover their picture and details should appear similar to existing 4 persons

i have given 'required changes.jpg' to further explain my query.

please tell me if i have explained my problem properly or further clarifications are needed.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

You need the souce file .fla to make any changes

Hey I recognise this,
You posted this a while ago. So the .fla you were using was decompiled from a .swf! No wonder there were so many badly named layers and objects in the library!

From what I can see, everything you need to do is inside the movieclip called "sprite 145".

Looking inside "sprite 145":
Layers 1, 5, 9 and 13 contain the movie clips with the details of the original 4 people. So adding two extra layers around here will be an idea (one for each additional person you want to add). in these layers you should add movie clips containing the personal details of the additional people and give them instance names of "five" and "six".