Hi,

I am very NEW to all of this, but was suggested by a friend to try this site for help & feedback.
I recently opened up my own business, & I basically do everything and anything to save $$$, including my own website. It's very basic, but now I am looking to up the look & design(way up). I was interested in Studio 8. My wife is highly interested in designing our site. Can anyone give me feedback on this program? Is it worth the $$. Does the program include everything necessary to design all aspects of a site? Or am I treading down waters I shouldn't be??

Any help is greatly appreciated!!! :confused: :?:

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Web design can be done with tools which are free. If you want to become a good web designer then purchasing Macromedia tools will not necessarily make you one.

Dreamweaver for instance is simply a program which generates html code. HTML code is easy to learn and can be written quickly and very efficiently by hand. See my website for an example - www.emdevelopments.co.uk - this was written using html-kit from www.chami.com - a free program. If you view the source on it then you'll see it's almost plain english.

Graphics programs are harder to find for free, but www.gimp.org offers a quite good one. Or you could pay something like £100 for Paint Shop Pro - a full image editor, free trial from jasc.com, though it's now taken over by Corel, so the address may have changed.

Flash file creation can't be done for free, but for a small fee www.koolmoves.com (free trial again) can be used - it's easier to use and a lot cheaper.
Swish is another popular flash authoring tool. Many people find flash overly complicated and difficult to learn e.g. motion tweens and layering can be very frustrating.