** I am not sure if this is the correct area for this post-- please move to correct forum if necessary-- thanks.

I am redeveloping the website for the company I work for. It is going along quite well but I have a question in regards to Flash; I have never worked with Flash in any way before. I simply wished to add a simple Flash element to the already-made, JPEG header; I did this via a software program which produced a .swf file when saved. This seemed to work fine (I opened the file in IE7 to view it-- it worked.)

I would like to learn and understand how to use this now in the site. I added it into the css sheet in place of the original JPEG header-- I had the feeling it would not un and it didn't.

css code snippet with .swf file

#VISUAL{ width: 750px; text-align: right; margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;  height: 122px;  background-color: #1F7A2A;  background-image: url([B]redSquares.swf[/B]);  background-repeat: no-repeat;}

Any help or push in the right direction would be very much appreciated. I really want to understand this issue as well as fix this problem.

Kind Regards,
Matty D

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I won't claim to know exactly why it won't work, and I don't know how you could make it work in that way.

However; a flash .swf file is not an image file. To put a flash object on a page, you have to have to 'embed' it on a page. Using an actual 'embed' tag work in most cases sometimes, but the apparent 'correct' way is to use 'object' tags.

The best way is to use embed tags inside object elements, because 'object' does some compatibiity delegation. (so if object fails, embed should work)