Hi this is my first post and im a novice with computers so please bear with me.
i have a compaq presario about 3 1/2 years old. has worked perfectly till the other morning. switched on got lights, fans started but made different noise as though no load on them, nothing on screen. friend suggested graphic card fault. as need for kids A level work went to PC Wo*$?d tech guys they tried new card still same. after reading some posts on your site also tried removing and replacing Ram still nothing but dont have spare to try. is this a likely prob. Today took out hard drive and recovered all data so this is ok. no visible signs of burn out on any hardwear any suggestions? please.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

If you boot the pc with the memory removed do you get a different beep code?

If you boot the pc with the memory removed do you get a different beep code?

sorry should have said no sound either

fans started but made different noise as though no load on them

Have you checked the CPU?

In case it helps, I'll repeat what I advised in another post.
-------------------------------------
The classic checks when you switch on are:

1 The keyboard lights should flash
2 The fans should be audible
3 The disk light should flash and you should hear the disk whirr

If nothing more happens (i.e. the disk doesn't click and there is no display), then there are usually one (or all) of four possibilities:

A There is a power problem for the CPU
B There is RAM corruption
C There is a CPU malfunction
D The BIOS has become corrupted (but that usually causes a displayed error)

If the disk whirrs but the drive light doesn't come on, that means that the disk has received no instruction to do anything which is consistent with any of the above mentioned fault scenarios.

Other brainios can no doubt expand my list, but that's the basics of it.
-------------------------------------