Hi I need some help figuring out the specifics to adding a second harddrive or at least geting a larger one.I am unsure though of I what I would need as I am not too experienced.Things like the max size my os would recognize etc...

Here are my PC specs
http://www.mezzy.com/cgi-bin/nph-paidmember.cgi/111010A/http/www.shopping.com/xPF-Intel_Intel_5008US_Celeron_Processor
http://www.mezzy.com/cgi-bin/nph-paidmember.cgi/111010A/http/www.epinions.com/S0619650-Presario_5008US/display_~full_specs
http://www.mezzy.com/cgi-bin/nph-paidmember.cgi/111010A/http/h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/genericDocument?lc=en&cc=us&docname=c00009344

Recommended Answers

All 55 Replies

Hello plehsdeen.

Ok on the compaq page they say this

• Two drive bays open for expansion

So you should be OK just adding another drive, as for size, what size are you thinking of?

I don't think your OS will be a limiting factor (unless we're talking MASSIVE) your BIOS will most likely be the cause of any limit.

posting a question to Compaq would probably be your best bet regarding that.

Connecting should be a walk in the park, especially if you use it as a secondary disk drive.

Things you should check for.

• Two drive bays open for expansion (are they only for CD drives?)

Check around the floppy and existing HDD to see if there is any space for one, if you have to use a CD sized bay, then your going to need some long stand-offs or brackets to hold the drive, both should be fairly easy to find.

Check that your power supply has a spare 4 pin connector

Check your IDE cable for the existing drive to see if it has a spare connector on it, to connect the new drive to.

You can buy different IDE cables if you need one (with the extra port) but most IDE cable have the connectors for 2 drives as standard. You can also buy splitters for the 4 pin connector from your power supply.