Hi guys & gals first post newbie here, found the forum on good old google. I posted this first under an existing thread from Garandan of 5th sep and its been pointed out to me better to start a new thread to get answers so here goes. I have almost exactly the same problem as Garadan. I have the same motherboard ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe an original 120 gig IDE HD and a Maxtor diamond 10 250 gig SATA HD. I originally installed the sata with little problem other than finding I needed to install the silicon image drivers from floppy. It was then recognised by windows patitioned and formatted and has been used as a second drive since. It has always shown as present in the post right after the raid notification ( note I am not using raid ) but it has never shown up in the bios. After having recent problems with my system which to date are still occuring :- often not long after booting the system freezes and the HD light stays permanently on. I thought this might be the IDE HD starting to fail so decided to install a fresh copy of XP onto the sata HD.