Earlier this week i purchased a core 2 duo e6850 and another gig of DDR2 800 ram. After putting them in my comp i started playing Vanguard: saga of heroes and after about 2 days i decided to play with the graphic settings since it was running perfect on highest quality. Right when i clicked to enable something to improve my graphics i heard a crack noise (like a spark, if it was a spark, i saw nothing, just heard a noise) and my computer shut off, now i don't know if pressing this graphic enhancing option was just a coincidence to the timing of the spark, but i think not. Anyway, i replaced the processor with my previous processor and it still didn't start up. I don't think it has to do with my graphic cards either because even if they did get damaged, that wouldn't keep my computer from not even starting. I have also come to a conclusion that it isn't my RAM because if i power off my system totally and plug it back in and press the power button, it turns on for a split second, then if itry turning it on afterwards, it doesn't make any signs of life, so i think my RAM is telling the computer not to turn on because there is something wrong. I beleive i have narrowed it down to being my Motherboard(Gosh i hope not), which is relatively new, or my harddrive.

SPECS:

OS--Windows XP

MOBO--EVGA 122-CK-NF63-TR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

RAM--Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (4 512mb) 240-Pin DDR2

Processor--Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz LGA 775

HD--Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s

Video Cards-- Dual SLI nvidia EVGA 7900 GS 256mb DDR3 SLI enabled

Please, any responce will help, i would rather not spend the $$ on taking it to a shop, thanks in advanced!

~Phil

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I think its the power supply

Hoe many watts is it? your system, needs at least a 550w. If you pushed your cards over the edge you could have caused your PSU to die.