I'm completely new to Linux and I've been playing around with it for about 2 days. I've picked up on some things pretty quick, but I just can't seem to understand how to install the appropriate drivers for the wireless card I've installed.

Currently the proprietary drivers are installed and I have slow web browsing performance. What would be the appropriate fix? Installing drivers meant for my wireless card (Intel Centrino 6230) or are the proprietary drivers enough but something else is slowing my web performance?

My dad is running quick on Windows 7 but I'm slower since I've switched.

For the record, I've been to www.intellinuxwireless.org and found the specific drivers for my card, but I'm unsure of how to install tar.gz files. Am I supposed to use the terminal? If so, how (if someone could provide me a good instructional website)?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

You might also want to check out www.linuxwireless.org - they have most of these drivers, as well as decent instructions on how to install them. In your case, a tar.gz file is a compressed archive. First do this from a command-line window (console):

tar -zxvf filename.tar.gz

This should create a new directory and put the extracted files there. Move into that directory (cd dirname) and see if there are some text files such as README, INSTALL, etc. or something like that. Read those. Tell us what you find in the directory and we can then help you start from there if you still need help.

Below is the installation instructions. My understanding is that before installing the ucode file I need to install a iwlagn driver, which I don't know where to find or how to install. I tried "sudo apt-get install iwlagn" but that didn't work.