hi there,

i have some knowledge about Unix and now i wanted to choose Unix admin to start my career. i wanted to know all the basic info about unix. like what are the version's and types of operating system, which one will be best for me. because presently i am doing my master's in electrical's and after finishing my master's i wanted select unix industry.

thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 29 Replies

if you prefer unix, and not linux, you better go for solaris, hp-ux and AIX. you it's a free distro you are after try freebsd and openbsd. there's also an opensolaris, but I'm not quite certain how open it is

hi there,

i have some knowledge about Unix and now i wanted to choose Unix admin to start my career. i wanted to know all the basic info about unix. like what are the version's and types of operating system, which one will be best for me. because presently i am doing my master's in electrical's and after finishing my master's i wanted select unix industry.

thank you.

Debian and CentOS. These are whats most commonly used on servers and most linux distributions will be very simular to these two as they are derivitives of them,

solaris is free, also freebsd(which is freaking terrible and a pain to setup)

solaris is free, also freebsd(which is freaking terrible and a pain to setup)

sun solaris isn't free at all. opensolaris is free, but the license agreement is too long to read na dhas quite a few underwater rocks.
freebsd isn't hard to set up once you know how. of course it isn't a graphical etch/RH/SuSE installer, but it is not worse than slackware or gentoo. and once you've set it up, it is a VERY stable and efficient OS

> sun solaris isn't free at all.
uh, yeah it is.
http://www.sun.com/software/solaris/get.jsp#download
They'll even send you the cd's/dvd. thats how i got mine.
> freebsd isn't hard to set up once you know how