Hi, all. I'm brand new on this site and really don't have much professional expertise to offer in the computer field; I'm mainly a semi-retired freelance writer & photographer. I was hoping someone might be able to help me solve a really strange problem: whenever I'm using Safari and filling out a form on a website that requires me to list my address, the first digit of my zip code ALWAYS disappears when I hit "continue" or "submit." The only way I can get it to go through is to depress the key for that first digit JUST as I'm clicking "submit" or "continue" using my mouse. Sometimes I have to do it a few times & time it just right to get it to work, It's driving me NUTS! Anyone ever heard of this & know of a solution?
BTW, I'm using MAC OS 10.3.9 and Safari 1.3.2 on a G4 machine. Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

That's an odd one. Be proud that you figured a temporary workaround!

I have no clues, so hopefully somebody else knows of this issue.

Best of luck,
Danarchy

Hi . . .
I'm new to DaniWeb today. Like passcribe, I have a problem when entering a zero at the beginning of a form field. When the field fills automatically, the zero is missing. I enter it manually, then it disappears again. This doesn't happen with all websites in which I enter a zip code, but happens in enough to be extremely frustrating. Did you ever resolve your problem, passcribe?

I'm using Safari 1.3.2; I'm afraid to upgrade because I may encounter more problems than currently exist. Safari quits on many websites . . . I no longer "send a report to Apple" because I feel it goes into a black hole.

Thanks for any suggestions to resolve my problem!

Hi, Marlene. No, I never found a solution to my "lost zip code digit" problem and I received very few replies or suggestions; I guess it's not a serious enough problem for anyone to address. I HAVE gotten VERY good at typing in a "1" at the same time that I advance to the next screen so my zip code retains all the numbers.