Care to share some hints, tips, tricks, etc.?

I'm pretty new at it, but have been having a blast making 3D renders that look startlingly realistic!

(Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, but other than the lounge, I don't see a more fitting place).

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I don't use Poser Duncan, but a number of our artists do. I've dug up a few bits which should help you from various postings they've made:

As for learning Poser, my approach to it was the same as with all other software: jump in and fool around. If I want to do something and can't find out how, then I go surfing for information.

One tip right from the start: don't try to use the tools across the top of the document window to move body parts. You'll quickly get confused and frustrated. Instead, use the parameter dials for each body part to move in X (left-right), Y (up-down), and Z (front-back). It may be a bit more tedious this way at first, but it's the only way to achieve precise posing. Eventually, you'll reach the point where you actually type the numbers in.

DAZ and R'sity are good for products (though I actually buy very little from DAZ; too expensive for the most part). DAZ has a few tutorials in the "Arcana" section, R'sity has a few too, but I don't know how useful they are. Seems to me (and I could be wrong) that most of the real gurus hang out at www.poserpros.com - but there, you have to have the patience to plow through forums.

PoserPros is also a great place to pick up low cost Poser items. Everything that is listed as "ProClub" sells for $2.50, and some of the items are far superior to similar items which sell for $10-$20 elsewhere.

Another excellent source for 3D stuff is www.rdna.com - they have tons of nature items, which I love to scatter about in some of my images. :-)