Ok, this might be a bit lengthy so sorry in the long-run! I figured if I told you exactly the ins and outs of this problem, it would let you help me a little better... I hope.

My WindowsXP was custom built by a Computer company not far from where I live. I've been using it perfectly for the past 2 years, but until recently- from June onwards, I started receiving it's first share of problems. My virus scanner expired on me, and a whole load of unwanted nasties came in. My machine would load on me one day, and then suddenly freeze, causing me to manually reset it. When I pressed the restart button, the screen I have suddenly went blank with no signal. Similarly, I tried to shut the power off at the mains, and then switch it back on again to reboot. The same problem happened. I could hear the tower whirring away inside, but there was no signal on the screen. This has been continuing for the past couple of months. It's pot luck whether it lets me load onto the system or not. A few weeks ago, I bought a new Virus scanner and Security suite. Norton found a few viruses and lots of Spyware etc. That was all removed, but the problem still persists.