Hi

What are these terms? What is the difference?

I am kind of new to servers but I understand what is a server, client, and transfer protocols like ftp, sftp, vpn etc. I have also created server using filezilla and transferred files using it, and I unsuccessfully tried creating sftp server using OpenSSH. (After doing all the stuff I got an error says, openSSH.exe is not valid windows executable.... something like that, I took help from here http://www.digitalmediaminute.com/article/1487/setting-up-a-sftp-server-on-windows, but that is a different issue I will create another thread for that, mentioned it just to give a background).

That being said, my company's IT guys is bothering our analytics team over these terms. They are saying our server is not secure, and they need some 5000 USD to buy and some monthly charges to maintain the same. (They say our existing server is a public server, I don't know what does that mean). I tried googeling but couldn't find a satisfying answer.

So please help me here.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Those are abstract concepts at best and without seeing the actual hosting agreement and contract its not possibly to answer your question to the depth you require.

It sounds like your IT guy is trying to be a know-it-all to get his friend's hosting company more business ;)

A private server would be something like a windows server installed on a virtual machine that only you have access to. You can log in to the server console with RDP, make changes to IIS, etc etc.

A public server would be something like a windows server with many websites installed on a single instance of IIS. The hosting company would set up IIS and not allow you access to it. You would only be able to upload your files to a certain directory where your web app is pointed to in IIS. In this case if someone breaks in to IIS and gets administrative access to the server they could get at all of the websites.