I'm not a techie person, so easy on your replies :
I have Windows 98
I connect to the internet via AOL
I use both IExplorer and Netscape
I'm getting LOW RESOURCES msg and the computer locks up (everything). The only way to temporarily repair the problem is to reboot.
I've reloaded AOL, IExplorer, Netscape, still same problem.
I ran Spy s/w over and over again... every time it finds something new, which leads me to believe that there's something running in the 'background' causing the adware garbage...
Any ideas on stopping the LOW RESOURCES problem?
Thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I'm not a techie person, so easy on your replies:
I have Windows 98
I connect to the internet via AOL
I use both IExplorer and Netscape
I'm getting LOW RESOURCES msg and the computer locks up (everything). The only way to temporarily repair the problem is to reboot.

I recommend a two-pronged approach, using free programs that are especially useful in this case.

Windows 98 has a built-in resource meter. Ironically, it is such a resource hog itself as to be totally useless in a case like this. Fortunately, the free TinyResMeter can be easily configured to monitor system resources. There's no need to unzip or install it; just run it. When the little "bug" icon appears in the System Tray, right click on it. Go to the Fields menu and select the following items: CPU usage, SYS, GDI, and RAM (there are other fields as well, but these are of the most interest right now). Initially, this will at least give you warning of impending doom -- when SYS and/or GDI drop below about 40%, you are in the danger zone.