Hello, I am new to DNS servers. I have been working on this for about two weeks now so if i seem frustrated please understand. =) All I wish to accomplish is being able to type in http://www.dv6500321123.com into an internet browser and have it pull up my webserver. I downloaded BIND9 and installed it. I have my C:\DNS\bin folder with all the BIND9 files and my C:\DNS\etc folder with db.dv6500321123.com.txt and named.conf. Here is the text of the two files:

<b>db.dv6500321123.com.txt</b>
$TTL 6h
@   IN SOA  ns1.dv6500321123.com.   host.dv6500321123.com. (
            86400 )

@       NS  ns1.dv6500321123.com.

ns1 IN A    24.58.146.242
www             A       24.58.146.242

<b>named.conf</b>
options {
    directory "c:\DNS\etc";
    allow-transfer { none; };
    recursion no;
};

zone "dv6500321123.com" IN {
    type master;
    file "db.dv6500321123.com.txt";
    allow-transfer { none; };
};

I am behind a router but I have the DMZ set to my web server and name server, which are the same server. If someone could please tell me what i am doing wrong and how to corret it. Also if you could provide me with a folder of working DNS zones and configuration files i would be greatful =)

Thank You,
DV6500<gras></gras>

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Do you have a static IP available for a NAT translation?
Which model router do you have?

yes i have a static IP address and as for my router number i cant help ya there. its all marked up :P - i will look for the box tomorrow and will let you kno.

do you have the domain registered?

isnt that the point of a DNS server so you dont have to registar/buy a domain...

do you?

lol ya, im just getting stuck with sum stuff, maybe someone, *DUKI* *COUGH* *COUGH* will return to the thread and help me :)