Wow it seems every post I read starts out with "Hey I am a newbie to this, I need some help" then it is continued by a long long long paragraph without any commas, periods, and so on.

Well here I go, but i'll try to keep it short and sweet! It'll be difficult though.

Newbie here, I would like to go to a wireless setup.

Here is what I have;
Compaq Presario 5140 400mhz ~350ram, 8 gig hard drive, WinXP
Dell Inspiron 5100 2.6ghz, 512ram, 40gig, WinXP
Dell desktop 2.6ghz, 256ram, 40gig, WinXP
Playstation 2 online
Maybe another laptop joining the family
DSL internet connection currently, contemplating a switch to cable

Here is the setup I would like;
Compaq presario to be the main area where everything is hooked up.
Both Dells to be on the wireless setup, along with any other additional computer or laptop we add.
Playstation 2 needs to be hooked up via an ethernet cable

In short I believe I need a wireless router that can support 6 connections (Compaq, Dell, Dell, PS2, +1, +1) 2 via ethernet (Compaq, PS2) and 4 via wireless (Dell, Dell, +1, +1)

Is there a setup out there that will be able to support these applications, without sacrificing internet connection speed too much?

Which brands do you recommend, and exactly which parts do I need?

Lastly, am I dreaming or is it possible that a wireless setup would be able to work throughout the property of my house, the land is 50x100. I would imagine the furthest portions from the base like corners and so on would not receive a connection. What is the realistic coverage area in a home(3 floors)?

Thank you, I tried to keep it short, but I just couldn't

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies