I am doing B.Tech in computer science and I am in the 1st year (I have almost completed 1st year)

I want to learn a language in the forthcoming summer break (2 months) between the first year and second year, and am quite confused if I should go for C++ or Java.
I have no previous experience of C++ (I did not have comp sci in school), but I have studied C in the first year.
I have asked a few people and most of them tell me that trying to learn java is no good if I already dont know C++, because then I will not know what the concept of "classes" is, and therefore will not be able to understand Java properly.

In a nutshell, my questions are-
1. Should I learn Java or C++ ?
2. Should I join a proper institute or buy books and do java/c++ at home??

I want to learn java, but im hesitant because i dont know if i'll be able to learn it properly if i already dont know C++.....
Any advice would be appreciated, thanks in advance....

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I have asked a few people and most of them tell me that trying to learn java is no good if I already dont know C++, because then I will not know what the concept of "classes" is, and therefore will not be able to understand Java properly.

They're full of shit. By that logic, trying to learn C++ is also no good because you won't know what the concept of "classes" is. You have to learn it somewhere. :icon_rolleyes:

>1. Should I learn Java or C++ ?
It's your call. Both are based on C. Java is a simpler language, but C++ may give you a better grounding in the lower level aspects of programming. Pick the one you're more comfortable with and/or see yourself using more often. Naturally this implies trying both. Maybe give each language a solid week or two to get a basic feel for how you like them.

>2. Should I join a proper institute or buy books and do java/c++ at home??