hi I'm a newbie in learning c++ and java..I was just thinking if what is the best operating system and compiler and why?

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Best? Lot's of opinions about that. If you want something that has a chance of running on different operating systems, then use Linux and g++ for c++ and OpenJDK for Java programming. All free, widely used, and robust.

"best" is definitely subjective. I have a couple suggestions if you want to learn a programming language:

1.) If you're trying to learn a programming language I'd suggest trying to learn one instead of two. The important thing is not the quantity of programming languages, but the programming concepts themselves. The syntax of a language is very specific, while the concepts behind programming apply to a much broader scope. Learning about variables, functions, classes, inheritance, polymorphism and other important concepts will help you become a better programmer in the long run.

2.) the two languages you suggested are very different. Here is a description of both:

Java - runs off of a virtual machine, so it's easy to install (just go to www.java.com and download the JDK and the JRE). You can use a lot of different compilers but I would recommend Eclipse, it's very robust and has a lot of neat features. Java is a very good starter language and also has a lot of practical uses, it's the most used programming language in the world according to TIOBE. It reinforces many concepts about encapsulation and object oriented programming.