I am a new programmer but I am devoted to make a game. Can I make a game engine that have software rendering and openGL . With a little bit of AI and dynamic lightning and sprites/models. I am not asking the ~~~~~ like Half life or Quake engine, just a "small but enough" engine that can do these things. But HOW and HOW MUCH it take in a language like C++ and openGL only.:?: :-/

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

I am a new programmer but I am devoted to make a game. Can I make a game engine that have software rendering and openGL . With a little bit of AI and dynamic lightning and sprites/models. I am not asking the ~~~~~ like Half life or Quake engine, just a "small but enough" engine that can do these things. But HOW and HOW MUCH it take in a language like C++ and openGL only.:?: :-/

Yes. Best place to start = OpenGL, C++, AI, and Modeling books from Barnes and Noble / Borders / Amazon. It will take a while to get something like that going... yes, even the simplest of engines takes a bunch of work. Patience is your best friend on something like this. Good luck!

where should we start from......

where should we start from......

Read the post above you own. Read the "Read me:" in this forum.

Why do you keep replying to old threads with questions like:
"How to start"
"i can't understand that..."
"and Y? "
"who can make me a code of my problemo "

You've got allmost 200 posts here, so by now you should know better..

Niek

sorry about that i don't know that... bcoz i know that this forum is started alone sorry..... question: what should we use to enhance this project? what code or what compiler

you refuse to get the mesage, do you?
Do NOT revive old threads to post your own gibberish that supposedly are questions.
Start your own threads instead and post something that people can actually understand without having to spend half an hour guessing what the heck you're writing.

SORRY can any one close this thread now.....