Hello everyone!!

I am new to Daniweb!

I am lookng for advise on the best game engine software as well as computers.

To give a little bit of background, I have been working for a company for 10 years designing and maintaining their website and I do some freelance on websites as well. I am pretty much self taught but I can work with almost anything that has to do with web design and I have taught myself alot about C ++.

The company now wants me to help design an adventure game, the problem I am having is that my Mac notebook just crashed. I have had it for 4+ years and my harddrive crashed. I have a friend that can put a new hard drive in for free!!!! And I can buy the Leopard Operating system but would this be the best thing to do to get into gaming software.

I bought a book "The Official Guide to 3D Gamestudio" which helps but it is only suited for Pc's. Is this the best gaming engine? Should I invest in a more up to date computer and if so is a Mac or a PC more suitable. What is considered the best gaming engine on the market today?

Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
David

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I don't write games, so I can't help. But I do have a question. If you're a web designer, why would your company ask you to help write a game application?

It is a very small company and asked if I could help. It is something that I am interested in so I agreed to see what I could do.

If you want to make good money then I recommend getting yourself a PC and then to learn C++ --> Win32/MFC(or both) --> DirectX/OpenGL(or both which would be better).

If you want to make good money then I recommend getting yourself a PC and then to learn C++ --> Win32/MFC(or both) --> DirectX/OpenGL(or both which would be better).