Hi Dw.

I'm a bit new to C# I'm used to program with VB.NET and one of my project had force me to do it with C# as I'm sure you are aware that VB.NET it lack with Windows Phone Socket programming APIs or support and C# does support it so my app is a TCP/IP based app. It uses a chat approach but the difference is that in my app a user only type in the credentials (Login details) and login then from there s/he should be presented with a list of data retrieved/sent by a server to this client.

I've got a couple of issues/problems namely:
1) In my server the server assumes that the data sent by a client is Bytes so it convert it using ...ASCII.GetString(data) but the problem is that in my Windows Phone app I don't know how to convert the data from string to byte using the ASCII format. I have this on my windows phone:

string SendMessageToServer = myclient.Connect(myip,myport);
            SendMessageToServer = myclient.Send("Login:<" + txtUsername.Text + ">:<" + passwordBox1.Password);

As you can see the format of the request to login from a client to a server. The server will then look for signal of which here its Login but that is done after the data has been converted. The problem is that I want all my systems/clients to use the same format so that I wont have many servers for different platforms(Computers, Mobiles).

2) The server when sending the responce it sends it as Bytes, which is also what I would like to know as to how to convert the responce from Bytes to string in Windows Phone using C#.
3) How to keep the connection alive so that only a user can terminate the connection?