Hi everyone,

I was hoping somebody could help me unravel this - i'm very new in programming in php and i'm teaching myself so bear with me.

scenario:

I have a website with 4 distinct section (all in seperate tables):

1. A header - where my menu buttons are,
2. A body,
3. A static piece,
4. A footer.

I want to be able to interchange the body section with different data (i would like to use include files), but i don't want to have to repeat all the other data in a seperate php file.

So in short i want the body to change and the rest to stay the same.

I have the layout of the page on www.melktert.co.za/home.php - you'll see the white section in the middle is what i want to change when the user selects a different menu item.

oh yes, and i've got each section listed as a different function.

would really appreciate some input.

thanks,
tim

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

hey, i'm an idiot. just realized what i gotta do now. sorry. thanks anyway,

And what are you supposed to do ? :)

ahoy.

What i did now was just put each section into a different include file and then made my main pages like news.php, link.php, etc. and just included the sections in :) without having to re-copy the code each time.

Is there a better way of doing this?

Also, I have a SQL database running with news articles and event information. How do I create a link of a certain article? for instance, i list all the news articles on the right and i want to open a specific one by clicking on it from the list. at the moment my list is just a static list.

please help me out, it really takes me long to figure this stuff out on my own hehe.

Thanks for reply.

Tim

Simple. Pass the id of the news. For eg.

$query="select id from news";
$result=mysql_query($query);
while($row=mysql_fetch_array($result)){
$id=$row['id'];
echo <a href=\"news.php?id=$id\">Part of the news</a>";
}
//this will print all the ids from the table.
//when the user clicks on the hyperlink, in news.php, 
$id=$_GET['id'];