hey guys.

i am very new to programing and was wondering if anyone else had seen this little trick.

this is a little java code to get a saved password prom a website.

javascript:alert(document.forms[0].elements[1].value)

the forms and values change from site to site but this code works for this site.

if you click remember me on this website and then log out and type that code into the URL spot then it will return your password.

i just kinda thought it was neat.

give it a try

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Member Avatar for langsor

Very cool, thank you for sharing ... I stuck that one in my library, wonder where it will come in handy?

Cheers

yea i don't know if it will ever come in handy or not but i thought it was neat.

hey guys.

i am very new to programing and was wondering if anyone else had seen this little trick.

this is a little java code to get a saved password prom a website.

javascript:alert(document.forms[0].elements[1].value)

the forms and values change from site to site but this code works for this site.

if you click remember me on this website and then log out and type that code into the URL spot then it will return your password.

i just kinda thought it was neat.

give it a try

I've noticed this before but your post got me thinking about XSS and I just realized that it can be carried out even if you are not logged into a website.

The common misconception is that you have to be logged into a website for an XSS attack to steal your session and make use of it.

It appears that if you use the remember password feature, an XSS can be carried out even if you're not logged into a website, stealing your username and password credentials directly.

I haven't seen this type of XSS mentioned at all.

Member Avatar for langsor

I've noticed this before but your post got me thinking about XSS and I just realized that it can be carried out even if you are not logged into a website.