Hi
i am a final year student in computer science.i have a project idea but don't know if its possible.I am thinking of making a peer to peer application using a wifi card but have an interface similar to bluetooth to the user.the idea here is allow for pcs to find themselves and send data to the desired Pc without having to manually deal with configurations such as ip addresses,ssid etc.If this is possible,how can it be down?
thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Perfect - do it!

how can this be down?can the windows wireless api be adquate enough?

Wait, I thought this was your project.

well i need help from you guys,this is just an idea but don't really know how to implement it.i need some expert guidance....thank you

Configure wifi in adhoc mode , write application to send and receive packet via UDP , I would say not very difficult project assignment.

Honored sir,
I call it idea when I know (or at least think I know) how I would do it!
Otherwise, it is no more than wishfull thinking...........

If You are not even sure it could be done, nor have >>hunch<< how it could be done, then beat it!
In other cases You can at least try to Google few keywords and see if something similar drop out :-((

It would do You world of good to read some books about Systems Analyse and Systems Engineering, as You lack practicality of the approach to problem.

In short:
First see what You want as results, and what use of this may be
This are outputs of system..

When You are sure of that, think what could give that results!

Establishing that, see what inputs are necesary and where You can take them, or what could send them or produce them.

Next look what/who is controling whole process (initiate, operate, terminate) as something or someone should trigger it to start!

Draw it on paper as boxes connected by arrows, write comments for both boxes and arrows that represent actions or messages.
Go trough whole scheme from start to end and see if something is missing.