I just started in the community. I was motivated to participate on this community by a desire for growth and mainly, help me to plan and develop my career. I'm graduated since 2006, and I work as an outsourced Java Developer at a bank in Brazil. For some months ago I have spending lots of time thinking and trying to plan my career, but I didn't have success to accomplish this intend.
I'm not hoping somebody give me a career plan or something like this, I just wanna discuss about that difficulty, have some advises and know about difficult that you find or found out to plan yours careers.
Sorry for my simple (possibly wrong) english.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I just wanna discuss about that difficulty, have some advises and know about difficult that you find or found out to plan yours careers.

About me I had job interview few days ago , he asked me what your career plan for the next 5 years :S
I really did not have any :( I started to read about how to plan the career but shouldn't I have job first then think of this ?

the right answer to that kind of question:

in 5 years I see myself in same type of position, but with greater responsibility and much more knowledge.

This is the right answer, if that's your plan.
But I wanna something more. My will isn't to stay in the same position in 5, 10 year.. I know that I wanna to working with technological solutions, software development, but I don't want to work as a programmer…
My company doesn’t have a career plan defined. If it had could help me.
So I think we need to have personal objectives, in this way we can decide about our next steps and realize our main objective.
What will you do to get more knowledge? What kind of knowledge do you want?
What will you do to have more responsibility? What is more responsibility?
This is so much generic and abstract isn’t a concrete thing. May this hinder your plans.