Hey all,

I am currently a second year IT student and have come to the time in which I have to choose a specialization for me to major at. In our school we get to pick among four specializations namely:

• .NET
  • Java Programming and Solaris
  • UNIX
  • DWBI (Database Warehouse..err something something)

Our school has given us a seminar about the four but unfortunately I find that they have not discussed the four specializations properly. They were all busy comparing each specialization among the others and prove which one is better among the rest.

That is why I am still confused. I don't know which one of these would give me a better edge during job applications and which one would yield me a better salary when I am starting to work.

I want a specialization that can be fun, competitive and highly paid.

I really enjoy (maybe even love), get good grades and cope up well in programming but I find that in years time the complexities of programming will get to me and I may wear down eventually.

But I am not that confident with programming, I use what I know and seldomly acquire new knowledge to make my work better. I only get confident when I know the solution to a problem else I succumb to cowardice.

Whenever I acquire new knowledge I enjoy doing it and enjoy absorbing it. Even though I am not that confident with my work I sometimes stand out among my classmates.

I really can't explain how I gauge on programming. I really like it but I am very scared of it. It's really weird.

I am really not that smart. The only way that I am able to do well in programming is because I am sort of a hard worker. I procrastinate a lot when I am stumped with my work though.

I like routines and do menial tasks very well (I really like easy work that is repetitive yet enjoyable), I am a perfectionist too. I really like thinking and analyzing too.

Can you guys help me decide? And can you please explain which one would make me stand out during job applications?