Hello. I'm seeking some advice from anyone currently working in IT. A few years back I was laid off from my IT job (nothing fancy; tech support for a global company). My youngest kid was having some problems so I took some time away. About six months later I tried to get back into the industry with very little success. I didn't have the resources to update my skills at that time and despite the fact that most of the companies I interviewed with utilized software and technologies I knew, I still came up short.

So I dabbled in some other areas of interest for awhile, but I am very much intent on getting back into my old profession. I have a wealth of tech support and network troubleshooting experience (six years worth), an associate's degree, and a handful of now-defunt Microsoft certs (and the mainstay CompTIA certs). Network troubleshooting and admin are what I am familiar with and what I'd like to go back to. (I have some SQL experience, and no development experience... definitely not a programmer.)

Basically, I'm not sure how to overcome this gap in IT work. It's there for a legitimate reason but I know the industry has changed in the years since, and new technologies abound. I feel like I'm practically starting over again. I've considered updating my certs as a start; I see numerous new certs from Microsoft. Some inside advice on what is expected of IT pros and what skillsets are in demand would be fantastic, as well as any insight on overcoming the gap on the resume. I don't expect to enter at the same level I left, but some advice on getting back in would be fantastic.

I've been out of work for about four months now. I'm discovering that there is quite an art when it comes to resumes and such. Here are some basics, which I hope will be helpful: