Hello I am an Utter noob at this but just wanting to ask a simple question or two.

What would I use in order to create a graphical interface. Something simple that would link buttons to scrips? Any answer or suggestion would be much appriciated!

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

Hi,

That depends on what you need to do. Please provide further information.

Sorry for the lack of info. I don't really know myself. I might not even have the right Idea but, a small window with buttons that link to a script or batch or anything else. Just to give a interactive interface instead of a bunch of different scripts. Thanks for the reply.

(out of curiosity that might lead to giving you a idea have you
ever used a hiren's disk before in particular 9.1 or higher?)

I just finished an app that lets you open a data connection and test stored procedures by using an XML config file to specify the stored procedures and corresponding parameter information. If I understand, that's close to what you want to do. There are a few things you need to think about.

• If you want to run any script or program, you can't hard code anything. You have to use some kind of config file to say what program is being run and what parameters it takes. I did that with an XML file that I deserialize into an object hierarchy.
  • You need to come up with a way to display the output in a universal way. With program output, that means you're going to end up using just a text box and letting the program format the output. What I did was use a data grid for the result set and a multiline text box for the output parameters.
  • The UI needs to be able to adjust to different numbers and types of parameters that you send to the program you're going to run. What I did was make a user control with a name and a text box value that the user can just type freeform parameter data into. There's no validation since it's a utility for people who know what they're doing. ;)