Hi All

I'm not technically trained so please forgive the following words if ignorant.

I'm an antiques dealer just moved to the 21st Century. Spent 3 years getting my site to the top of Google for my niche area (large sized furniture not available in small shops or antique centres) of the already small antiques market. Very few dealers online, most have no idea of seop and so the job has not been difficult. Have a good company doing all meta work and design.

Changed site from HTML to DIV 8 weeks ago and my site has all but disappeared on Google. Held it's place on MSN and Yahoo though? Usually when substantial change is made to the site it takes 3 weeks to get back to the top but no recovery this time. Google would be right to put my site at the top as am the only dealer in the UK with the stock on sale via the web in the volume listed of my product type.

Business on it's knees, children eating beans without toast now so desperate for help.

Site is www.elisabethjamesantiques.co.uk if you think might be able to solve the mystery. Understanding that this will be free advice, that may save my butt, I will gladly pledge to double my £250 marathon sponsorship to Children In Need if anyone can offer help. (Haven't read the forum rules so hope donations to charity are OK in exchange for gratitude)

Regards
Chris Millard

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I'm not sure what you mean by changing the site from HTML to DIV, since <div> is an HTML tag, although I assume you mean you went for a tableless design and started using more CSS, minimizing the amount of HTML on the site. If so, I can't understand why that would translate into Google not liking you more.