i have my own website (in sig of course). but the biggest thing that is driving me round the bloody bend is my forum. i have tried my upmost to get members.Postings etc can i !!!. can i hell as like i just dont know what to do its so so sad as i spend HOURS working on it. 47 members in 1 month makes me wanna cry. im just so confussed. i am very new to web creation etc, so any advise would be great :). Also anyone know good places i can submit for forum etc ie; free advertising.

thanks

christina>you commented: Don't cry! :) +12

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hello and welcome to the community. Having briefly checked out your forum it seems that you have to register to view the content. If new visitors can't see what is being discussed they won't be enticed to get involved. You need to allow guests (i.e. anonymous users) to view the forums. If these guests think the place looks interesting they might well register. You'll have noticed thats how its done on Daniweb. Hope this helps.

Steven.

Don't be too desperate when you start a community. Everything takes time to grow so in that perspective, you've made a pretty good start. Don't burn yourself out by trying too much. You'll end up hating your community if you do that.

I would suggest you give yourself lots of breaks from your community and allow the forum to grow naturally rather than forcing the pace.

Nice site!

2 pieces of constructive criticism:

1) Make the link to your forum more visible and accessible. It's buried too deep down.

2) Don't have so many categories in the forum. It becomes a little too confusing with so many categories.

You definitely need to get more activity going in the forums. The biggest problem is that most visitors don't want to participate until they see some real activity. So it's a bit of a catch 22 unless you pay for some initial posting and then have it looking like you've got a lot of activity going already.

Site looks great though. Keep up the good work.