Hi! I'm a newbie here and I've been working on a new site that's recently been uploaded. After a week of trying to get backlinks and whatnot, I finally got it on Google search engine. My first victory.

Today I put adsense ads on for the first time. Getting the ads up was no problem... the part I'm confused and overwhelmed by is the required tax information.

Now, I know you guys aren't tax professionals, but I suspect maybe there's a user or two who filled out the forms before and can answer my questions. :)

a) IRS Tax Form W-9. What's that? Do I take it to my tax guy when I do my taxes next year?

b) It says "Business Name." What do I type? I'm not a business... just a guy who made a web page and put adsense on it.

c) It says, "If you are a sole proprietor and you have an EIN, you may enter either your SSN or EIN. However, the IRS prefers that you use your SSN." Um. Am I a sole proprietor? What the heck's an EIN?

Ok... thanks for reading. And thanks in advance for any and all replies. Again, I realize that this is a web / IT discussion forum, not a tax forum... but I thought you guys might be able to help 'cause you've probably done it before. Thanks.

P.S. Any other advice for a guy who is relatively new to adsense and non-personal web pages is appreciated too. :)

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

tax information is required only if u are a US citizen.....if u are not US citizen...u can reply to every field with a no......that much info will be sufficient....

Thank for the reply. I am a US citizen.

tax information is required only if u are a US citizen.....if u are not US citizen...u can reply to every field with a no......that much info will be sufficient....

I'm no tax expert either, but I suspect tax info is required of non-US citizens also if their web site is hosted in the US. Citizenship has nothing to do with it, its where the business (web site) resides.