Ok, I have now come across something that is really hacking me off. I am not a newbie with computer stuff, I have built many computers but have never come across this problem.

About a week ago I turned on my computer and it start up fine, but froze about the time it got to the XP start up screen. I them proceded to restart and it froze again. I think turned off the power, turned it back on, and it wouldn't start. There is NO POST, no signal going to the monitor, but the fans and things were running.

So my first thought was that it might be my video card since the monitor was not coming up. I took it out and put it in someone elses computer and it works great. Next I took a volt meter and made sure the voltages of my power supply were ok. (they were) I took EVERYTHING off the motherboard except for 1 stick of ram, the processor, and video card. Still nothing worked.

I finally thought that it was the motherboard. Well, I got a new motherboard today, hooked everything up, but it STILL didn't work!!! :mad: I went to a friends computer and pluged it into his monitor and I got nothing. One thing I DID notice though is that the lights on the keybard are not coming on when I turn it on, so I don't think it is getting power.

Anyway, the only thing I can think of is that my processor is to blame. I have never had a processor go out on me, but I want to make sure before I go out and spend lots of $$$ for a new one.

Thanks in advance for anyone who can help in anyway!

-Macoland

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Check, double check and recheck the leads plugged in to the motherboard front panel connector. Sometimes even having the power LED lead reversed can stop you from booting.

The only way you're gonna tell if the processor is kaput is to try it in another motherboard, or try another processor in YOUR motherboard!

Dear Macoland,