Hello, I'm new to building PC's (it shows i'm afraid)..

If the following has a really pathetic simple fix - I can take it on the chin .. I just need some support...

Background:-

New Build MSI 945GCM5 V2 Motherboard with Pentium dual core E2180 LGA 775 2Ghz. Kingston 2GB DIMM (2 pc’s) & SATA Hitachi 250GB.

Symptom:-

Beeps 3 times at POST but cannot find out what that indicates?

Can not get XP to start loading… pass various mem tests from floppy’s – ran for 5 hours and passed all tests..

Background:-

Tried to load XP Driver Txtsetup file using floppy – it reported that it loaded freedos(?) then hung at ROOT????

What files should I transfer from CD to floppy?

Misc:-

Tried a working IDE HDD with Win XP ~ it went into safe mode option screen then re-booted again & again.... with the beeps every time ..

Hum? I’m lost and frustrated – what am I missing here?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

if it 3 short beeps it like a ram problem ,have you tried it with just one of the ram stick in the board ,are you sure its the right ram for the board ,is it DDR2 533/667
do you get anything on the screen at bootup,like can you get into the bios ,if yes install the bios defaults and save and reboot ,maybe, maybe not

The RAM I have fitted has the following specification:-

Kingston 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400
Memory Non-ecc CL5 Unbuffered 1.8V

- 2 GB ( 2 x 1 GB )
- DIMM 240-pin
- DDR IIStorage Capacity2 GB ( 2 x 1 GB )
- TypeGenericTechnologyDDR II SDRAMForm FactorDIMM 240-pinMemory
- Speed800 MHz ( PC2-6400 )Data Integrity CheckNon-ECCLatency
- TimingsCL5FeaturesQuad rank , unbufferedSupply Voltage1.8 VLead

I will do "classic-faultfinding" i.e. swop out each ram module to try and evaluate if one of the modules is faulty (or been inserted wrong!)

Many thanks for your post..

Main Memory

• Supports 2 unbuffered DIMM of 1.8 Volt DDR2 SDRAM
• Supports up to 2GB memory size