Hello, all. I'm a relative amateur when it comes to all things IT related so I'm hoping I can find some much needed assistance here. I'll get right to specifics.

Motherboard: MSI G31TM-P35
Chip: Intel Core 2 Duo E4700 Dual Core
RAM: 4GB DDR2
Power supply: Dynex 400W
Monitor: Dell 20' flat screen
HDD: Western Digital 500GB / Western Digital 160GB
Video Card: NVidia XFX 8500GT 512MB DDR2

I'm using the aforementioned PC as I type this post. Currently, I'm running the onboard video card and everything works properly. Unfortunately, I have a few applications and games that my onboard can't handle so I'd like to be able to use my nvidia. I recently replaced the motherboard and power supply after a nasty power surge fried both (I also bought a battery backup as a result). I was running Vista64 prior to the burnout, but it was a memory leaking POS so I decided to upgrade to Windows 7 64 when I purchased the new motherboard, powersup, and HDD. I've got the old HDD slaved so I can retrieve stored information from it at my leisure. Anyway, after installing Windows 7 and new drivers for the motherboard, etc.. I booted the PC on the onboard video and everything was fine. I powered down and then added the nvidia to the PCI-E slot and rebooted. Initially, the hardware wizard detected the new card and I installed the appropriate drivers. I booted again with the monitor hooked up to the nvidia and it worked like a charm. Games worked, etc.. It was great... until I ran windows updates. My PC hung on the 17th of 23 updates for about an hour. Eventually, I performed a hard reboot and couldn't get my monitor to come out of power save mode. I can't see POST or anything else but I can tell that windows is booting properly. I even hear the windows boot noises, etc.. My keyboard is responsive and I can even tell when I'm at the windows password screen by the noise I hear. I type in my password and then hear as windows loads, but I can't see anything.