Okay, I'm sorry if this question has already been answered before. I looked and only found one question similar to this one but it was never answered.

After I turn on my computer/monitor or "wake" the screen from the power saving mode, my monitor will go blank and the orange light will flash. I turn the monitor off, wait a few seconds and then turn it back on again. But it will go blank again, usually whenever I open a new window (and sometimes when I haven't done anything at all). It will continue to do this for about half an hour, and then it will work fine. But lately, it seems, that the duration gets a bit longer each time.

My monitor is a Sony Trinitron HMD-400, which I bought in 2001. I attempted to try another monitor on my computer but the screen remained black (power light was on though). It is an older version (Magnavox) than my Sony.

I would really appreciate any help I can get! Thanks..

Sonja

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

I'm a technician at Harvey Norman, a large computer chain store in Australia. I'm finding a similar problem on a customer's compaq computer which is moderately/heavily infected with spyware. After a few minutes on the Internet the Sony SDM HS-75P LCD goes blank, seemingly because the backlight goes off.

This is not Hardware related because it ONLY happens when connected to the Internet. The monitor can be manually turned off and on again and the problem vanishes... for about three minutes.

Conclusion: Some spyware or virus out there is playing silly buggers with monitors.

Che

Thanks for your reply! I had my brother-in-law (who works on computers) check out my monitor. He hooked it up to his computer and played a few high-graphic games and the monitor worked perfectly. So he said it was the video card. He has one that he's going to put in my computer, so whenever he does we'll know if that was the problem or not!