Hello, I'm very new to this whole buying components and created your own gaming PC. I've managed to come up with a list of components and am looking for advice on what to buy.

Here's what I've got:
- Coolermaster Elite 334 Case
- Corsair 4GB(2x2GB) RAM
- BeQuiet! 600w PSU

Here's what I'm getting soon:
- LG GH22NS50 DVD+RW
- 1TB Samsung HD103SJ
- 1GB Gigabyte GTX 550 Ti OC Graphics Card

Here's what I need help in deciding on:
- Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
- AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition

Basically, I'd like to know if all these parts go together well, and if they do, is there any better parts for around about the same price? It's recently come to my attention that the AM3 Motherboards are going out and new Bulldozer's are coming in. I don't know if this matters or if it will be really important to me. Please help!

It's the Motherboard and CPU that I really want advice on!

Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Should work ok, but personally I would get an 890FX board. Aslo, check the RAM against gigabytes compatibilty guide on their site.

Thats like £70 more expensive, quite a considerable increase. Woudl you say theres good reason for that increase? If so, what are they? :)

Thanks for responding by the way. :)

890 is a more up-to-date chipset. You have listed a black edition processor which makes me believe you might be overclocking.
The Corsair RAM can be overclocked, as can the GPU.
Stands to reason to get a board capable of running the rest of the hardware :).

hi geomarine,

for a basic rig, cooling solutions and cabinet choice does not pose much of an issue, but for a gaming rig, where temperatures can get a bit on the high side, you should look for cabinets that offer better cooling. you could try out something the cooler master 690 series. heres a link to their coolermaster 690 advanced http://www.coolermaster.com/product.php?product_id=6638