Hello,

This is my first try at getting help here, so please bear with me.

I have a Sony VAIO, Notebook

PCG-K33P
Pentium 4
3 megahertz

I just upgraded my RAM memory from 512 K (2 X 256)
Double DIMM sockets to 1 gig (2 X 512) DDR, 2700, 333

I am running Windows XP Professional

The computer runs essentially OK with the new memory and the memory shows up on Task Manager, My Computer, etc. as being installed.

However, I had a couple of crashes with Outlook as I was terminating Outlook. So...I thought I'd test my new memory. I got on line and found MEMtest 86. I downloaded an ISO copy, burned a bootable CD and started the test. It runs without errors but part way through the test sequence the computer just powers down. I tried it a few times and it always powered down.

So...I found and downloaded the Windows Memory Test, made a bootable CD and ran the test. The first 5 tests ran and completed successfully with no errors, but part way into the sixth test the computer once again powered down.

Now I am concerned. Do I have a hardware problem? Do both sets of software contain a sequence that triggers the shutdown? I have never had an unwanted shutdown in the three years I have been using this computer.

I don't know how to proceed. Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Neil

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

hi,both test programs should run for days , try taking out one of the 2 new sticks and run the program,if it doesn't shutdown ,then try the other ,one of them may be bad

OK,