Hi to all,
I am having 1.75 GB of RAM on my 32-bit PC. The speed of computer is very slow for first 15-mins.
What should I do to increase speed.
Please suggest me, I am very new in this thing.

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

You haven't told us what computer you have or what windows version you have. Without that all we could do is make a guess on how to speed it up!

Hi,

Chances are you are on a windows OS so I will give some suggestions based on that:

readyboost from a pen drive could help. Also defragment your computer. Move items from your desktop elsewhere. Items on your desktop make startup slower. Also if you search for msconfig and run it then you will have startup as an option, until any items on startup that you don't want. Many times people have too many programs runnning on startup. Also you can get a cleaner.bat file to remove temp files etc.

Also look into any memory upgrades you can do, however with 32-bit architecture it will be limited.

Hope this helps. If your not using a windows OS then I will leave it to a Linux or Mac user to answer you.

@Rik from RCE,
Thanks for suggestion.
I am having Windows XP Professional 2002.

@piers,
Thanks for suggestion. I tried 'msconfig' before this, it shows following startup program out of which, i am not understanding which are important? Please tell me that important program from following list.
1.hkcmd
2.EMAILSCN
3.ZVMOUNT
4.vport
5.TALLYLIC9XSERVER
6.ZVMOUNT
7.ctfmon
8.OneNote 2007.

Well you probs don't need to oneNote to open on startup. Also I am assuming the list is longer than just 8, look out for things like skype or msn messenger etc. The others you listed I would leave alone.

Hi , slow for first 15mins ? could be excessive user installed apps and slow hard disk drive (which includes virtual memory)
As using XP Windows I suggest install Winpatrol - startup manager
Evaluate all listed programs and disable those user installed apps not used immediately after every start up