Okay... this message is likely to be long. But bear with me. If you get bored, just skim straight through to the technical stuff.
My dad (with the assistance of his neighbors and myself) is trying to build a new computer. This one, the one I'm typing on right now, is intended to be for business and office work he and his wife will work on (I think he's also worried this computer is a bit too crowded with useless applications... but if he asked me for help, I could probably wipe those off in all of 5 seconds). The one we're working on is more for pursuits of pleasure/gaming, with my younger brother specifically in mind.
Anyways, I'd like to say I'm an intermediate computer user, at least when it comes to software. I know how to do most everything on a computer except programming. I know nearly nothing about computer hardware though, although I'm just beginning to learn. And while my dad has the basics of computer hardware down, he knows next to nothing about software interface (for example, he doesn't even know how to copy and paste items onto a floppy disk, or set an internet home page, etcettera). So now that I've gotten home from school, we've sort of been working on building this computer together. But at the moment we're at a logjam and we don't know how to go further.
The hardware, at least to my little knowledge, works. The computer turns on and off smoothly, everything is in its right place, etcettera. I "installed" and updated the BIOS for him about 4 days ago, via a floppy disk. I've never done this before, but when I did it, it seemed to go perfectly. It displayed a visual which indicated it was "downloading", and then we got an Intel screen. Plus we have several new menus that weren't available before BIOS installation/update.